ber of Parliament. The remuneration of a Minister without Portfolio is \$7,500 a year in addition to the sessional and expense allowances, the latter being not taxable. Additional annual allowances of \$4,000 (beyond the above-noted sessional allowance) are provided to each Leader of a Party having a recognized membership of twelve or more persons in the House of Commons other than the Prime Minister and the member occupying the recognized position as Leader of the Opposition in the House of Commons and, likewise, to the Chief Government Whip and to the Chief Opposition Whip in the House of Com-The Speaker of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of Commons each receives, besides the sessional allowance and expense allowance, a salary of \$9,000 per The Deputy Speaker of the House of Commons receives a salary of \$6,000 per The Speakers of the Senate and the House of Commons are also entitled to \$3,000 in lieu of residence and the Deputy Speaker of the House of Commons an allowance of \$1,500 in lieu of residence; these allowances are not taxable. The Deputy Chairman of Committees receives an annual allowance of \$4,000. Parliamentary Secretaries to the Ministers of the Crown receive an annual allowance of \$4,000 a year, in addition to their sessional and expense allowances. A motor vehicle allowance of \$2,000 is paid to each Minister of the Crown and to the recognized Leader of the Opposition in the House of Commons, and a motor vehicle allowance of \$1,000 is paid to the Speakers of the Senate and of the House of Commons; these allowances are not taxable.

A member of Parliament contributes, by reservation, 6 p.c. of his full sessional indemnity toward his retirement allowance, which is based on five twelfths of the total contributions, paid or elected to be paid; to the widow of an ex-member is paid three fifths of the allowance paid or payable to the ex-member at the time of his death. The maximum allowance payable to an ex-member is \$9,000 per annum and the maximum payable to the widow of an ex-member is \$5,400 per annum.

An Act to make provision for the retirement of members of the Senate (SC 1965, c. 4) entitles a Senator appointed after June 2, 1965 to become a contributor under the provisions of the Members of Parliament Retiring Act. Senators appointed prior to that date and who have not attained the age of 75 years, who elect under the provisions of this Act, are also entitled to become contributors. Under the provisions of the Retirement Act, a Senator contributes, by reservation, 6 p.c. of his sessional indemnity to the Consolidated Revenue Fund. A Senator appointed before June 2, 1965 who (a) within one year of attaining the age of 75 years resigns his place in the Senate or (b) resigns due to some permanent infirmity disabling him from performing his duties in the Senate, may be granted an annuity equal to two thirds of his sessional indemnity for life. The widow of a person granted such an annuity may receive an annuity equal to one third of the annuity to the ex-member of the Senate.

Every former Prime Minister who held office for four years will receive from the Consolidated Revenue Fund an allowance of two thirds of the annual salary provided for Prime Ministers under the Salaries Act, the allowance to commence when the former Prime Minister ceases to hold office, or attains the age of 70 years, whichever is the later, and to continue during his lifetime. The widow of a Prime Minister will receive an annual payment of one third of the allowance that was being paid or that would have been paid to her husband, where he dies without receiving the allowance, such allowance to commence immediately after the death of her husband and to continue during her natural life or until her remarriage. None of these allowances is payable while the recipient is a Senator or a member of the House of Commons.

The Federal Franchise.—The present federal franchise laws are contained in the Canada Elections Act (SC 1960, c. 39). The franchise is conferred upon all Canadian citizens or British subjects, men and women, who have attained the age of 21 years, are ordinarily resident in the electoral district on the date of the issue of the writ ordering an